President of India Appointed two Judges to the Supreme Court of India

Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri and Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde were appointed as the Judges of the Supreme Court of India by the President on 10 April 2013.

Created On: Apr 11, 2013 09:52 ISTModified On: Apr 11, 2013 09:53 IST

Chief Justices of High Courts of Punjab and Haryana as well as Madhya Pradesh, Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri and Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde respectively on 10 April 2013 were elevated as Judges of Supreme Court, in order of their seniority by the President of India.  

The appointment of judges will come into effect from the date they assume charge of their respective office. The President of India exercised powers conferred to him by Clause 2 of Article 124 of the Constitution of India for appointment of the judges.

Article 124: Establishment and constitution of Supreme Court

Clause 2: Every Judge of the Supreme Court shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal after consultation with such of the Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts in the States as the President may deem necessary for the purpose and shall hold office until he attains the age of sixty-five years.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 9 =