President Pranab Mukherjee conferred Infosys Prize 2015

The awards were received by Prof Umesh Waghmare, Prof Jonardon Ganeri, Dr Amit Sharma, Prof Mahan Mj, Prof G Ravindra Kumar and Dr Srinath Raghavan.

Created On: Feb 15, 2016 11:31 ISTModified On: Feb 15, 2016 17:24 IST

President Pranab Mukherjee on 13 February 2016 conferred Infosys Prize 2015 on six winners in New Delhi. The awards were received by Prof Umesh Waghmare, Prof Jonardon Ganeri, Dr Amit Sharma, Prof Mahan Mj, Prof G Ravindra Kumar and Dr Srinath Raghavan.

Infosys Prize 2015

About Infosys Prize 2015 Winners

Engineering and Computer Science: Won by Prof. Umesh Waghmare of Theoretical Sciences Unit, of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore.

He was awarded for his innovative use of first-principles theories and modelling in insightful investigations of microscopic mechanisms responsible for specific properties of certain materials such as topological insulators, ferroelectrics, multiferroics and graphene.

Humanities: Won by Prof. Jonardon Ganeri, Global Network Professor of Philosophy, New York University and Recurrent Visiting Professor, Department of Philosophy, King’s College London, UK.

He was awarded for his originality in interpreting and scrutinizing analytical Indian Philosophy and shedding light on dichotomy between Indian and Greek traditions of philosophical reasoning.

Life Sciences: Won by Dr. Amit Sharma, Group Leader, Structural and Computational Biology Group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi.

He was awarded for his pioneering contributions towards deciphering the molecular structure, at the atomic level, of key proteins involved in the biology of pathogenesis of the deadly malarial parasite.

Mathematical Sciences: Won by Prof Mahan Mj, Professor of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

He was awarded for establishing a central conjecture in the Thurston program to study hyperbolic 3-manifolds and introduced important new tools to study fundamental groups of complex manifolds.

Physical Sciences: Won by Prof. G Ravindra Kumar, Professor in the Department of Nuclear and Atomic Physics (DNAP), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai.

He was awarded for his contributions to the physics of high intensity laser matter interactions. He provided, for the first time, unequivocal evidence of turbulent magnetic fields and the discovery of terahertz frequency acoustic waves, in laser produced hot dense plasmas. These results have significance to testing stellar and astrophysical scenarios.

Social Sciences: Won by Dr. Srinath Raghavan, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi.

He was awarded for outstanding research that synthesizes military history, international politics, and strategic analysis into powerful and imaginative perspectives on India in global context.

About the Infosys Prize

• The prize was established in 2009 and is given in six categories.

• The six categories are - Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences

• The Infosys Prize is awarded under the aegis of the Infosys Science Foundation, a not-for-profit trust instituted in February 2009.

• The prize for each category consists of a purse of 65 lakh rupees, a 22 karat gold medallion and a citation certificate.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

4 + 6 =