President Ram Nath Kovind appoints 7 new Governors; Satya Pal Malik replaces NN Vohra in J&K

Governor Satya Pal Malik was transferred from Bihar to Jammu and Kashmir to replace NN Vohra, while senior BJP leader Lalji Tandon was appointed the Governor of Bihar, replacing Malik. Kaptan Singh Solanki, the Governor of Haryana, has been transferred to Tripura, while Satyadev Narayan Arya is the new Haryana governor.


Created On: Aug 22, 2018 09:56 ISTModified On: Aug 22, 2018 15:04 IST
President Ram Nath Kovind appoints 7 new Governors

President Ram Nath Kovind on August 21, 2018 appointed Governors for seven states including Bihar, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Meghalaya, and Tripura.

In this major reshuffle, Governor Satya Pal Malik was transferred from Bihar to Jammu and Kashmir, replacing NN Vohra. On the other hand, senior BJP leader Lalji Tandon was appointed as the Governor of Bihar.

Satya Pal Malik: Governor of Jammu and Kashmir

Bihar governor Satya Pal Malik was appointed as the Governor of Jammu and Kashmir by the President. Malik replaces incumbent NN Vohra, who has been serving this post since 2008.

Though there is no fixed tenure of the Governor, Vohra continued to serve the office at the pleasure of the President. Though Vohra’s second six-year term ended on June 25, 2018, he continued in office after the State was placed under Governor’s rule on June 20, 2018.

Political career of Satya Pal Malik

Beginning his career as a student leader in Meerut, Satya Pal Malik joined Charan Singh’s Bhartiya Kranti Dal from Baghpat in Uttar Pradesh in 1974 and was elected an MLA to the Uttar Pradesh Assembly.
He was twice elected to Rajya Sabha in 1980 as a Lok Dal candidate and in 1986 from the Congress.
However, later he was disqualified from Rajya Sabha as he started attending meetings of the rebel Congress leader VP Singh’s Jan Morcha.
In 1990, Malik became the Union Minister of State of Parliamentary Affairs and Tourism in Manmohan Singh’s cabinet.
In 2004, he joined the BJP and contested the General Elections against his one-time mentor Charan Singh’s son Ajit Singh from Baghpat. However, he lost.
Malik was appointed the Governor of Bihar in September 2017, after the post fell vacant following Ram Nath Kovind’s nomination for presidency by the BJP.


The appointment of Satya Pal Malik is seen as an appointment from a socialist background and not from the uniformed forces. The Centre needed an experienced administrator in the state given the ongoing Governor’s rule and the Amarnath Yatra that concludes on August 28, 2018.

Malik is the first career politician to be appointed as the Governor of Jammu and Kashmir in 51 years after Karan Singh whose term ended in 1967.

Lalji Tandon: Governor of Bihar

Senior BJP leader Lalji Tandon was appointed as Governor of Bihar, replacing Satya Pal Malik.

Tandon served as a Member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for two terms (1978-84). He has also been an MLA from Lucknow West for three terms from 1996 to 2009. Tandon was a close confidant of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Tathagata Roy: Governor of Meghalaya

Tripura governor Tathagata Roy was now appointed as Governor of Meghalaya, replacing Ganga Prasad.

Roy was BJP's West Bengal unit President from 2002 to 2006 and had twice contested Lok Sabha elections on party ticket but was unsuccessful. Before the beginning of his political career in 1990, Roy was part of the Calcutta Metro railway project and had designed the Calcutta Metro. He is known for his pro-Hindutva views.

Ganga Prasad: Governor of Sikkim

Meghalaya governor Ganga Prasad has now been transferred to Sikkim.

Prasad was a member of the legislative council in Bihar for 18 years and a former leader of Opposition in the Bihar Assembly. During his tenure as Meghalaya governor, Prasad returned the controversial Khasi Hills Autonomous District (Khasi Social Custom of Lineage) (Second Amendment) Bill, 2018. He was a businessman by profession but started his political career as a Jan Sangh member in 1967.

Kaptan Singh Solanki: Governor of Tripura

Haryana governor Kaptan Singh Solanki was transferred to Tripura, succeeding Tathagata Roy.

A former Rajya Sabha member, Solanki was appointed as the Governor of Haryana in 2014. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha in August 2009.

Satyadev Narayan Arya: Governor of Haryana

Satyadev Narayan Arya was appointed as the Governor of Haryana by the President. He succeeds Kaptan Singh Solanki.

Prominent Dalit leader from Nalanda, Arya is an eight-term MLA from Bihar. He was a cabinet minister in the 2010 BJP-JDU Government in the state.

Baby Rani Maurya: Governor of Uttarakhand

Former Agra mayor and ex-member of National Commission for Women (NCW) Baby Rani Maurya was appointed as the Governor of Uttarakhand. Maurya is a BJP leader from Agra.


Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 9 =