Punjab and Haryana High Court stayed the Release of Grand Masti

Punjab and Haryana High court on 10 September 2013 stayed the release of Grand Masti on the grounds of vulgar dialogues

Sep 11, 2013 18:18 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Punjab and Haryana High court on 10 September 2013 stayed the release of Hindi movie Grand Masti on the grounds of vulgar dialogues and obscene content besides scenes that degrade women. It was scheduled for release on 13 September, in Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh. The High Court had directed the Central Board of Film Certification, Union ministry of information and broadcasting and Maruti International Films Private Limited, Mumbai, to file their replies on the allegations made in the petition by 20 September 2013.

The movie starring Vivek Oberoi, Aftab Shivdasani, Riteish Deshmukh, and Manjari Fadnis is a sequel of the film, Masti, which was released in 2004.The Central Board of Film Certification (often referred to as the Censor Board) is a statutory censorship and classification body under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India. It is tasked with regulating the public exhibition of films under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act 1952.

Films can be publicly exhibited in India only after they have been certified by the Central Board of Film Certification. The Board, consists of non-official members and a Chairman (all of whom are appointed by Central Government) and functions with headquarters at Mumbai. It has nine Regional offices, one each at Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Thiruvananthapuram, Hyderabad, New Delhi, Cuttack and Guwahati. The Regional Offices are assisted in the examination of  films by Advisory Panels.

The members of the panels are nominated by Central Government by drawing people from different walks of life for a period of 2 years.

The Certification process is in accordance with The Cinematograph Act, 1952, The Cinematograph (certification) Rules, 1983, and the guidelines issued by the Central government u/s 5 (B).

At present films are certified under 4 categories
1) U:Unrestricted Public Exhibition
2) UA:Unrestricted Public Exhibition - but with a word of caution that Parental discretion required for children below 12 years
3) A:Restricted to adults         
4) S: Restricted to any special class of persons

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए