Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation announced the Ramon Magsaysay Awards for the year 2013

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation on 24 July 2013 announced the Ramon Magsaysay Awards for the year 2013.

Created On: Jul 26, 2013 11:38 ISTModified On: Jul 26, 2013 11:41 IST

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation on 24 July 2013 announced the Ramon Magsaysay Awards for the year 2013 to three individuals and two organizations for changing their societies for the better.

Afghanistan's first woman governor Habiba Sarabi and a Myanmar civil society organiser Lahpai Seng Raw, who both helped families displaced by conflict in their home nations, are among five winners of Asia's equivalent of the Nobel Prize for the year 2013.

A Brief insight into the list of the Awardees

1. Habiba Sarabi of Afghanistan honoured for helping build a functioning local government and pushing for education and women's rights in Afghanistan's Bamyan Province despite discrimination and poverty.
2. Lahpai Seng Raw of Myanmanr honoured for helping the rehabilitate work in damaged communities amid armed conflict.
3. Ernesto Domingo, a 76-year-old Physician honored for dedicating his career to pushing for the poor's access to Health services and for groundbreaking and successful advocacy of neonatal Hepatitis vaccination that has saved millions of lives in the Philippines.
4. The Komisi Pemberantasan Korupsi (Corruption Eradication Commission), Indonesia's independent anti-corruption Government body, was honored for a 100-percent conviction rate in the 169 cases it fought between 2004 and 2010, during which it recovered more than US 80 million dollars in stolen assets.
5. The Nepalese group Shakti Samuha (Power Group), formed by survivors of human trafficking, has recognised for helping fellow victims by setting up halfway homes and emergency shelters.

About the Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Manila-based Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, named after a popular Philippines President who was killed in a plane crash, was established in 1957 to honor people or groups who change communities in Asia for the better.

Every year the award is presented in a ceremony conducted on 31 August in Manila and the winners are honoured with US 50000 dollars prize money.

More than 300 people and groups, including the US Peace Corps and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, have been recognized since 1958.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 2 =