Reuven Ruby Rivlin elected as 10th president of Israel

Reuven Ruby Rivlin on 10 June 2014 was elected as 10th president of Israel.

Created On: Jun 11, 2014 12:20 ISTModified On: Jun 11, 2014 12:33 IST

Reuven Ruby Rivlin on 10 June 2014 was elected as 10th president of Israel. Reuven Ruby Rivlin is a member of Likud party.

He will succeed Shimon Peres. Rivlin will sworn-in on 24 July 2014. Rivlin has defeated a long-time MP Meir Sheetrit by 63 to 53 in a secret run-off ballot.

Rivlin was elected after vote by members of the Knesset. Knesset is the name of the parliament of the Israel. Rivlin was elected for a term of seven years.

He is expected to shift the presidency's focus from international affairs to more domestic matters.

About process of Election

Elections in Israel are based on nationwide proportional representation. Presidents are elected by the Knesset for a seven-year term and are limited to a single term. Members of Knesset vote by secret ballot.

The president is elected by an absolute majority in the parliament. If no candidate has received an absolute majority by the third round of voting, a simple majority is sufficient.

The president is elected to a term of seven years, and cannot be re-elected. Until recently, the president was elected for a five-year term, and was allowed to serve up to two terms in office.

About Rivlin

He was born in Jerusalem. He was elected to the Knesset (parliament) in 1988 for the first time.

He was elected as Minister of communications under then PM Ariel Sharon between 2001 and 2003. He was elected as Knesset Speaker in 2003 in an uncontested victory.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 3 =