1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Serena Williams of US won the women’s single title of Australian Open 2015

Feb 2, 2015 11:11 IST

Serena Williams on 31 January 2015 won the women’s single title of Australian Open of Tennis. In the summit clash, the world number one American defeated Maria Sharapova, the world number two from Russia 6-3, 7-6(5) in Melbourne, Australia.

With this win, 33- years and 127 days old Williams became the oldest winner of the Australian Women’s title in the Open era.

This was the 19th Grand Slam title and the sixth Australian Open title for Williams.

The win enabled Williams to join the fellow American Helen Wills Moody at third place on the all-time list of women winning Grand Slams.

The other two women holding the record of more Grand Slam singles title than Williams are Australia's Margaret Court (24) and Germany's Steffi Graf (22).

Serena’s 19 Grand Slams include




Years of winning

Australian Open


2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2015

French Open


2002, 2013



2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012

US Open


1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014

Is this article important for exams ? Yes274 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK