Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple wins UNESCO Asia Pacific Award of Merit 2017

Nov 6, 2017 17:25 IST
Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

The Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple of Srirangam in Tamil Nadu on 3 November 2017 won UNESCO Asia Pacific Award of Merit 2017 for cultural heritage conservation programme. It is first temple from Tamil Nadu to win the prize from the UN body.

The temple won the award for its efforts to protect and conserve cultural heritage.

The two key parameters that made the temple most eligible to win the award are its traditional method of renovating temple premises as well as re-establishment of rainwater harvesting and historic drainage system in preventing flooding.

CA eBook

About UNESCO Asia-Pacific awards
• UNESCO Asia-Pacific awards were launched in 2000 by UNESCO for cultural heritage conservation programme.
• The awards are given under four categories- Award of Excellence, Awards of Distinction, Awards of Merit and Award for New Design in Heritage Context.
• These awards are aimed at acknowledging efforts undertaken to restore and conserve historical structures without affecting their heritage value in Asia-Pacific region comprising 48 countries.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes11 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK