Top 10 Weekly Current Affairs: 10 December to 15 December 2018

Ashok Gehlot is likely to be sworn-in as Rajasthan Chief Minister for the third time. While, Sachin Pilot will take oath as the Deputy CM of Rajasthan. The decision was announced on December 14, 2018 after Congress President Rahul Gandhi met both Gehlot and Sachin Pilot in Delhi on December 13, 2018.

Dec 15, 2018 18:32 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Ashok Gehlot to be sworn-in as Rajasthan Chief Minister; Sachin Pilot as Deputy CM

Ashok Gehlot is likely to be sworn-in as Rajasthan Chief Minister for the third time. While, Sachin Pilot will take oath as the Deputy CM of Rajasthan. The decision was announced on December 14, 2018 after Congress President Rahul Gandhi met both Gehlot and Sachin Pilot in Delhi on December 13, 2018.

Two-time chief minister Ashok Gehlot and Rajasthan Congress Chief Sachin Pilot were competing against each other in the race for the post of Rajasthan Chief Minister. The choice of Rajasthan Chief Minister is crucial as in the Rajasthan Elections 2018, Congress’ tally stopped at 99, one short of a majority. That made it critical for the party to make a guarded choice, keeping 2019 General Elections in mind.

K Chandrasekhar Rao sworn in as Telangana CM

The President of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party to a massive win in the Telangana Legislative Assembly Elections 2018, was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of the state for a second straight term on December 13, 2018.

All the MLAs-elect unanimously elected Rao as the leader during their meet at the Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters. The oath-taking ceremony took place on the lawns of the Raj Bhavan in Hyderabad at 1.30 pm. Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath to the chief minister.

Along with Rao, party MLC Mohammed Mehmood Ali, who was deputy chief minister in the previous TRS government, took oath as a minister. The full-fledged cabinet will, however, be formed in the next few days.

Zoramthanga to be sworn in as Mizoram CM

Mizo National Front (MNF) President Zoramthanga would be sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Mizoram for the third term on December 15, 2018 at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl. He had earlier served as the state’s chief minister for two consecutive terms from 1998 to 2008.

The 74-year-old rebel-turned-politician was a former underground leader and a close aide of the legendary MNF leader Laldenga. His party had staked claim to form the government on December 11 after it secured a landslide victory by winning 26 seats in the 40-member Mizoram House.

Rajasthan Election Results 2018: Congress wins 99 seats; emerges single largest party in Rajasthan

The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as the single largest party in Rajasthan, winning 99 seats in the 2018 Rajasthan Assembly Elections. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailed behind with 73 seats and others fetched 27 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) showcased an impressive run by winning six seats, and Hanuman Beniwal-led Rashtriya Loktantrik Party won three seats.

The Gujarat-based Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) and Communist Party of India (Marxist) won two seats each, Independents won 13 seats and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won one seat.

Madhya Pradesh Elections 2018: Congress wins 114 seats, falls short of majority

The neck-to neck battle between the Congress and the BJP in the Madhya Pradesh legislative assembly elections, which continued late into the night, ended with the Congress emerging as the single largest party.

In the final vote tally released by the Election Commission, the Indian National Congress won 114 seats, BJP won 109, BSP won 2, SP won one and independents won a total of 4 seats in the state’s 230-member house. The number of seats required to form the government is 116.

Chhattisgarh Election Results 2018: Congress claims majority by winning 68 seats; puts an end to Raman Singh era

The Indian National Congress claimed majority in Chhattisgarh by winning 68 seats in the 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailed behind with 15 seats, followed by Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) with 5 seats and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 2 seats.

Post the result declaration, Chief Minister Raman Singh of BJP resigned from his post after serving the state for 15 years. Counting of votes for the 90-member Assembly began on December 11, 2018.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018: TRS wins sweeping majority for second straight term

The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has secured a simple majority in the 119-member state assembly of Telangana by winning 87 seats on December 11, 2018. While the Congress came second with 19 seats, the TDP managed to win 2 seats, the BJP won one and the others won 9.

With the clear mandate, the KCR-led party is preparing to form the government in the state for the second straight term. The early elections called by Chief Minister KCR are the second-ever assembly elections of the new state.

Supreme Court dismisses all petitions alleging irregularities in Rafale Deal

The Supreme Court on December 14, 2018 dismissed a group of petitions that demanded an independent probe into the controversial Rafale fighter jet deal, stating that it was satisfied with the procurement process. The court stated that the perception of individuals cannot be a ground for the Court to interfere.

The judgement was delivered by a three-judge bench comprising Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul and Justice KM Joseph. "We studied the materials carefully, interacted with Defence officials, we are satisfied with the decision-making process," Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi said, while dismissing the petitions.

Shaktikanta Das assumes charge as 25th Governor of Reserve Bank of India

Shaktikanta Das, Member of the 15th Finance Commission, on December 13, 2018 assumed charge as the 25th Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, made his appointment on December 12, 2018, within 24 hours of Urjit Patel’s sudden resignation as RBI Governor. Das will have a three-year term.

He currently represents India at the G-20 as a Sherpa, representatives of leaders of G20 member countries who coordinate on the agenda of the summit.

Urjit Patel resigns as Governor of Reserve Bank of India

Urjit Patel on December 10, 2018 resigned as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) with immediate effect, citing personal reasons. Urjit R Patel was appointed as the 24th Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on August 20, 2016 and took charge on September 4, 2016 for tenure of three years. He succeeded Raghuram Rajan.

He was previously serving as the Deputy Governor of RBI. He mainly looked after monetary policy, economic policy research, statistics and information management, deposit insurance, communication and Right to Information.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए