Union Cabinet approved nomination of NITI Aayog CEO as part-time member of Telecom Commission

Feb 18, 2016 15:17 IST

Union Cabinet on 17 February 2016 approved nomination of the Chief Executive Officer of NITI Aayog as a part-time member of the telecom commission. With this decision, Amitabh Kant will assume the role by virtue of his position as the NITI Aayog CEO.

The new role for the National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog CEO was envisioned as the institution replaced the Planning Commission the Secretary of which was a part-time member in the telecom commission.

The NITI Aayog CEO will lend value to the deliberations of the commission as the NITI Aayog was mandated to serve as a think tank of the government.

About Telecom Commission

• It was set up by the Union Government in 1989 with administrative and financial powers to promote rapid development in all aspects of telecommunications.

• The statutory commission consists of a chairman, 4 full-time members and 3 part-time members.

• With the addition of NITI Aayog CEO, the commission will have 4 part-time members.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK