Union Government formed Arvind Panagariya committee on Mumbai-Ahmedabad High Speed Corridor

Jan 14, 2016 14:55 IST

Union Government on 11 January 2016 formed a five-member high level committee to monitor the Mumbai-Ahmedabad High Speed Corridor (bullet train project). The committee will be headed by NITI Aayog Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya.

The mandate of the committee is to look into the overall operations and technical issues, Make in India component and financial outlay of the 90000 crore rupees worth project.

Further, the committee will also overview the project’s strategic importance for India-Japan bilateral relation. Earlier, in December 2015, both countries signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on cooperation and assistance in the execution of the project.

Apart from the Chairman, the members of the committee are-

AK Mittal, Railway Board Chairman
S Jaishankar, Foreign Secretary
Shantikanta Das, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs Secretary
Amitabh Kant, Secretary, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes24 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK