Union Government reconstituted Nehru Memorial Museum Library Society

Apr 29, 2015 15:25 IST

Union Government on 27 April 2015 reconstituted the Nehru Memorial Museum Library Society (NMMLS).

The decision to recast the NMMLS was announced by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the 41st AGM of Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) Society.

Prime Minister is the head of NMMLS. The NMMLS was reconstituted to include 34 members, and eight new members to the Executive Council. The 34 members of the society will have tenure of five years.

The Executive Council comprises President of Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Lokesh Chandra as Chairman, former editor and BJP member M.J. Akbar as vice-chairman, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Nitin Desai, Surya Prakash, the financial adviser of the Ministry of Culture, an ex-officio member, and Dr. Mahesh Rangarajan as director.

The Nehru Memorial Museum & Library (NMML) is a museum and library in New Delhi, India. It aims to preserve and reconstruct the history of the Indian independence movement. It was founded in 1964 after the death of India's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes17 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK