1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

USA defeated Japan to win Women's FIFA World Cup for the third time

Jul 6, 2015 15:15 IST

United States of America (USA) on  July 2015 won the FIFA Women’s World Cup. In the final played at Vancouver, Canada, US defeated Japan, 5-2.

This was third world cup title for the USA and first since 1999.

In the semi-finals, while US defeated Germany, 2-0, Japan beat England, 2-1.

The player of the match was Carli Lloyd of US.

Final tournament standings
Winner: USA
Runners Up: Japan
Third: England
Fourth: Germany

adidas Golden Ball: Carli Lloyd (midfielder of USA)
adidas Golden Boot: Celia Sasic (forward of Germany)
adidas Golden Glove: Hope Solo (Goalkeeper of USA)
Hyundai Young Player Award: Kadeisha Buchanan (Defender of Canada)
Fair Play Award: France

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes44 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: USA , Japan , Women's FIFA World Cup , Vancouver , Canada , US defeated Japan

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK