Virat Kohli named Team India ODI, T20 captain

Virat Kohli will lead Team India in all three formats as he was anointed as captain for the ODI, T20 series against England.

Jan 7, 2017 09:00 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Virat Kohli was officially appointed as the captain for all three formats of Cricket on 6 January 2017. With this appointment, Kohli took over leadership for the upcoming limited-over series against England.

Virat Kohli will lead a 15-member squad in both ODIs and Twenty20s against England.

Kohli to captain ODI T20

Earlier on 4 January 2017, Mahendra Singh Dhoni announced his retirement from captaincy from ODI and T20 internationals. He will be playing as the keeper-batsman in the team. Dhoni announced his retirement as captain of the team in ODI and T20Is after leading the team for more than nine years. During his captaincy, India won World Cups (ODIs and T20Is) and Champion Trophy.

Besides, the all-rounder Yuvraj Singh makes a return to ODI and T20 team after nine months. Batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane have been picked only for the ODIs.

In addition to this, veteran Ashish Nehra also makes a comeback in the T20 squad. Rookie wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is the only new face in the T20 team.


Kohli thanks Dhoni

The series against England will start with the first ODI in Pune followed by games in Cuttack, on 19 January 2017 and in Kolkata on 22 January 2017. The T20s are scheduled from 26 January to 1 February 2017 in Kanpur, Nagpur and Bangalore.

Team for 3 ODIs: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar and Umesh Yadav.

Team for 3 T20Is: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar, Jasprit Bumrah and Ashish Nehra.

Decision on Captain for ODIs and T20Is

The decision to appoint Virat Kohli as the captain for ODI and T20I cricket was taken at the meet of the national selection committee. The meet was chaired by MSK Prasad in Mumbai.

The meeting was convened by BCCI CEO Rahul Johri after joint Secretary Amitabh Chaudhary stood disqualified owing to the Supreme Court verdict, which sacked the entire BCCI top brass last week.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए