1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. History

Chola Kingdom: An Introduction

18-JUL-2014 18:28

    The Chola dynasty ruled from 300 BC until late 13th century AD, although their territories kept changing. Their ruling span can be divided into 3 parts namely Early Cholas, Medieval Cholas and Later Cholas.

    Early Cholas
    The most illustrious ruler among early Cholas is Karikala Chola. Early Cholas ruled from 300 BC to 200 AD. The Sangam literature reveals most of the information about early Cholas.

    Medieval Cholas

    The Chola power was re-established in South India under Vijayalaya Chola from 850 AD onwards.
    The important rulers of these Cholas are as following:
    Vijayalaya Chola
    Aditya Chola I
    Parantaka Chola I
    Rajaraja Chola I
    Rajendra Chola-I
    Rajadhiraja Chola
    Rajendra Chola II
    Virarajendra Chola

    Later Cholas

    The period from 1070 AD till 1279 AD is known as later Cholas. This period was the golden one for the Chola Empire and it became the most powerful at that time. The Cholas had the most powerful army and the navy and they colonized the south Asian nations.
    The important rulers of later cholas were as following:
    Kulottthunga Chola-I
    Vikrama Chola
    Kulottthunga Chola II
    Rajaraja Chola II
    Rajadhiraja Chola II
    Kulothunga Chola III
    Rajaraja Chola III
    Rajendra Chola III

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK