1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World

Council of Europe (CoE): Purpose and Objective

11-MAR-2016 19:12

    The Council of Europe is a regional intergovernmental organisation which was formed to promote human rights, democracy, and the rule of law in its 47 member states, covering 820 million citizens founded in 1949. The organisation is separate from the 28-nation European Union, though sometimes confused with it, in part because they share the European flag. Unlike the European Union, the Council of Europe cannot make binding laws.


    Source: thumbs.dreamstime.com

    Purpose and Objective of Council of Europe (CoE)

    It promotes co-operation between all European nations in the domains areas of legal standards, human right democratic development, the rule of law and cultural co-operation and its work has resulted in standards, charts and conventions to facilitate cooperation between European countries. Founded in 1949, it is an entirely separate body from the (EU), however, the two do however share certain symbols such as the flag and the anthem.

    Important bodies of the Council of Europe (CoE)

    • European Court of Human Rights-enforces the European Convention on Human Rights;
    • European Pharmacopoeia Commission-sets the quality standards for pharmaceutical products in Europe;
    • CODEXTER- designed to co-ordinate counter-terrorism measures;
    • The European Commission for the Efficiency of Justice (CEPEJ) and (v) Anti-Doping Convention and the Convention against Spectator Violence-for promotion of fair sport through these conventions.

    Members of the Council of Europe

    There are 47 members in the Council of Europe:  Belgium; Denmark; France; Ireland; Italy;  Luxembourg; Netherlands; Norway; Sweden; United Kingdom; Greece; Turkey; Iceland; Germany; Austria;  Cyprus; Switzerland; Malta; Portugal; Spain; Liechtenstein;  San Marino; Finland; Hungary; Poland; Bulgaria; Estonia;  Lithuania; Slovenia; Czech Republic; Slovakia; Romania;  Andorra; Latvia; Albania; Moldova; Macedonia; Ukraine;  Russia; Croatia; Georgia; Armenia; Azerbaijan; Bosnia and  Herzegovina; Serbia; Monaco and Montenegro.

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK