Top 10 players who have scored most runs in T20 International (T20I)

Indian Captain Virat Kohli is leading the table with 3159 runs in the T20I format, followed by New Zealand's batsman MJ Guptill (2939 runs) and Rohit Sharma (2864 runs). Check the list of the top 10 players who have scored the most runs in the T20I below.
Created On: Oct 19, 2021 20:17 IST
Modified On: Oct 19, 2021 20:18 IST
Top 10 players who have scored most runs in T20 International (T20I)
Top 10 players who have scored most runs in T20 International (T20I)

Indian Cricket team Captain Virat Kohli is the leading player in the T20I format with 3159 runs, followed by New Zealand's batsman MJ Guptill who is on the second spot with 2939 runs and Rohit Sharma with 2864 runs is on number three. 

List of top 10 players who have scored the most runs in T20I matches

1. Virat Kohli (India)

 virat kohli

Indian captain Virat Kohli is on the top spot when it comes to the list of cricketers who have scored the most runs in T20 International matches. Virat Kohli has scored 3159 runs in 90 matches.

Matches: 90

Runs: 3159

Highest Score: 94*

Average: 52.65

Strike Rate: 139.04

100/50: 0/28

Fours/Sixes: 285/90

2. Martin Guptil (New Zealand)

martin guptill

New Zeland’s right-handed opening batsman Martin Guptill is on number two on the list. Martin Guptill has scored 2939 runs in 102 matches.

Matches: 102

Runs: 2939

Highest Score: 105

Average: 32.29

Strike Rate: 136.82

100/50: 2/17

Fours/Sixes: 256/147

3. Rohit Sharma (India)


Rohit is one of the most destructive batsmen of the present era. He made many records over a brief period of time. 

Matches: 111

Runs: 2864

Highest Score: 118

Average: 32.54

Strike Rate: 138.96

100/50: 4/22

Fours/Sixes: 252/133

4. PR Stirling (Ireland)


Paul Stirling, a formidable player of Ireland, is number four on the list of most runs scored by players in T20I format with 2525 runs in 90 matches. 

Matches: 90

Runs: 2525

Highest Score: 115*

Average: 31.17

Strike Rate: 135.89

100/50: 1/19

Fours/Sixes: 289/88

5. AJ Finch (Australia)


Aron Finch is an aggressive top-order batsman of Australia. He is the captain of the Australian Cricket team in the limited-overs format. 

Matches: 76

Runs: 2473

Highest Score: 172

Average: 37.46

Strike Rate: 150.24

100/50: 2/15

Fours/Sixes: 248/107

6. Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)


Fondly called Professor, Mohammad Hafeez has captained Pakistan Cricket Team in all formats and is the second batsman from Pakistan in the top 10 list.

Matches: 113

Runs: 2429

Highest Score: 99*

Average: 26.40

Strike Rate: 120.96

100/50: 0/14

Fours/Sixes: 241/74

7. EJG Morgan (England)

EJG Morgan is an Irish-English player who has represented both Ireland and England at the international level. He captains the England Cricket team in the limited-overs format.  


Matches: 107

Runs: 2360

Highest Score: 91 

Average: 28.78

Strike Rate: 138.25

100/50: 0/14

Fours/Sixes: 179/116

8. Shoaib Malik (Pakistan)

Jack of all trades, Master of none; Pakistan cricketer Shoaib Malik is one such player. He is on the eighth spot on the list and is a reliable middle-order batsman of the Pakistan Cricket team.

shoaib malik

Matches: 116

Runs: 2335

Highest Score: 75

Average: 31.13

Strike Rate: 124.20

100/50: 0/8

Fours/Sixes: 192/61

9. David Warner (Australia)

Former Australian Captain and explosive opening batsman David Warner is in ninth place on the list of top 10 run-scorers in the T20I format. He has scored 2265 runs in 81 matches in the said format. 

david warner

Matches: 81

Runs: 2265

Highest Score: 100*

Average: 31.45

Strike Rate: 139.72

100/50: 1/18

Fours/Sixes: 218/89

10. Babar Azam (Pakistan)

The tenth batsman on the list of top 10 players who have scored the most runs in T20I is Pakistan's Babar Azam who scored 2204 runs in just 61 matches in the T20I format.  


Matches: 61

Runs: 2204

Highest Score: 122 

Average: 46.89

Strike Rate: 130.64

100/50: 1/20

Fours/Sixes: 231/33

Note: * against highest score denotes not out. 

So this was the complete list of top run-scorer in the T-20I format. Two positions in the top three have been secured by Indian players-- Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. 

 List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in ODI

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

2 + 4 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Related Categories