1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. History

List of Acts after 1857 during British India

21-NOV-2017 19:49

    The Acts & Reforms during British rule laid down the legal framework for the organisation and functioning of government and administration in British India. These events have greatly influenced our Constitution and polity. These Acts & Reforms have greatly influenced our Constitution and polity. Here is the list of Acts & Reforms after 1857 during British rule so that aspirant can easily learn it.

    British Empire

    List of Acts after 1857 during British India


    Features & Contributions

    Government of India Act, 1858

    1. The control of the British government in India was transferred to the British crown.

    2. The proclamation promised to respect the rights of the Indian princess and disclaimed any intention of extending British conquests in India.

    3. Promised to pay due regard to the ancient rights, usages and customs of the people and follow a policy of justice, benevolence and religious toleration.

    4. Proclamation further declared that all will be qualified to enter the administrative services on the basis of their education and ability irrespective of race and creed.

    Indian Council Act, 1861

    1. The three separate presidencies (Madras, Bombay and Bengal) were brought into a common system.

    2. The Act added to the Viceroy's Executive Council a fifth member - a jurist.

    3. Viceroy's Executive Council was expanded by the addition of not less than six and not more than 12 additional members for the purposes of legislation.

    4. The legislative power was to be restored to the Council of Bombay and Madras, while Councils were allowed to be established in other Provinces in Bengal in 1862 and North West Frontier Province (NWFP) in 1886, Burma and Punjab in 1897.

    5. Canning had introduced the Portfolio system in 1859

    Act of 1892

    1. The number of non-official members was increased, both in Central and Provincial legislatures.

    2. Introduces the Principle of Representation.

    3. Allowed the councils to discuss each year’s annual financial statement.

    4. The numbers of the Additional Members of the provincial councils were also raised, for Bengal it was 20 and 15 for the Awadh.

    Indian Council Act, 1909

    1. Act enlarged the Councils were enlarged and introduced direct elections.

    2. An Indian was to be appointed member of Governor General's executive council. 5 nominated by Governor General.

    27 elected which consisted of: (2 by special electorates, 13 by general electorates, 12 by class electorates consisting of (a) 6 elected by land holders and (b) 6 elected by Muslim constituencies.

    3. Satyendra Prasad Sinha became the first Indian to join the Viceroy's Executive Council'.

    4. The separate electorate was introduced.

    Lord Minto has been known as 'Father of Communal Electorate'.

    Montague-Chelmsford Reform (Government of India Act), 1919

    1. Act introduced the Diarchy, i.e., rule of two which means executive councillors and popular ministers. Governor was to be the head of provincial administration.

    2. Subject was segregated into two parts- ‘reserve list’ and ‘transfer list’.

    3. Legislature: It was expanded- 70% of the members were to be elected. The system of class electorates as well as communal class was consolidated.

    4. Women were given voting rights.

    Government of India Act, 1935

    1. Act ended the system of diarchy.

    2. The structure for “Federation of India” was established for both British India and some or all of the “princely states”.

    3. The introduction of direct elections, thus increasing the franchise from seven million to thirty-five million people.

    4. A partial reorganization of the provinces.

    Sind was separated from Bombay.

    5. Bihar and Orissa were split into separate provinces of Bihar and Orissa.

    6. Burma was completely separated from India.

    7. Aden was also detached from India, and established as a separate colony.

    8. Membership of the provincial assemblies was altered so as to include more elected Indian representatives, who were now able to form majorities and be appointed to form governments.

    9. The establishment of a Federal Court.

    In the above list of of Acts after 1857 during British India will enhance the general knowledge of the readers.

    1000+ GK Questions & Answers on Indian History

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK