List of British Viceroys during British India

26-FEB-2018 19:17
    List of British Viceroys during British India

    After 1857 revolt, on August 1858, the British parliament passed an act that set an end to the rule of the company. The control of the British government in India was transferred to the British Crown; Lord Canning was made the first Viceroy of India. Here is a “List of British Viceroys during British India”, so that aspirant can easily learn the chronology as well as their contribution.

    List of British Viceroys during British India (1858-1947)

    Lord Canning

    1. Queen Victoria’s proclamation and India Act of 1858

    2. White Mutiny

    3. Indian Councils Act of 1861

    4. Indian Penal Code in 1860

    5. Suppressed Wahabis movement

    Lord John Lawrence (1864 -69)

    1. Bhutan War ( 1865)

    2. Establishment of High Courts at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras in 1865

    Lord Mayo (1869-72)

    1. Establishment of statistical survey of India

    2. Dept. of Agriculture and commerce

    3. State railways

    4. He was assassinated in Andamans in 1872

    List of British Governors Generals during British Period in India

    Lord Lytton I (1876-80)

    1. Royal Titles Act of 1876

    2. Assumption of title of empress of India by Queen Victoria

    3. Vernacular Press Act

    4. Arms Act of 1878

    5. Second Afghan War (1878-80)

    6. Appointment of first famine commission in 1878

    Lord Ripon (1880-84)

    1. First Factory Act and First census

    2. Local Self Government in 1882

    3. Division finances of the centre in 1882

    4. Hunter commission on Education

    5. Ilbert Bill Controversy

    Lord Dufferin (1884-88)

    1. Burmese War (1885-86)

    2. Foundation of Indian National Congress

    Lord Landsdowne (1888-94)

    1. Factory Act of 1891

    2. Division of Civil services into Imperial, Provincial and Subordinate

    3. Indian councils Act of 1892

    4. Appointment of Durand Commission and its definition of Durand line between India (Now Pakistan) and Afghanistan

    Lord Elgin II

    1. Assassination of British By Chapekar

    Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

    1. Thomas Raleigh commission

    2. Ancient Monuments Preservation Act of 1904

    3. Establishment of Agriculture research Institute at Pusa in Bihar

    4. Partition of Bengal in 1905

    Lord Minto II (1905-10)

    1. Anti Partition and swadeshi movements

    2. Surat session and Split in the congress

    3. Minto Morley reforms

    4. Foundation of Muslim League by Aga Khan Nawab of Dacca in 1906

    Lord Hardinge II (1910-16)

    1. Annulment of partion of Bengal

    2. Transfer imperial capital to Delhi

    3. Death of G.K. Gokhale in 1915

    4. Foundation of Hindu Mahasabha in 1915

    List of Committees and Commissions in India before Independence

    Lord Chelmford (1916 -21)

    1. Return of Ghandhji

    2. Home Rule leagues

    3. Luknow Session and reunion of congress in 1916

    4. Lucknow pact in 1916 by the efforts of B.G.Tilak

    5. August Declaration of Montague

    6. Formation of Indian Liberal Federation by S.N.Banerjee

    7. Jallian Walla Bagh Massacre (13 April 1919)

    8. Khilafat movement (1919-20)

    9. Appointment of Sir S.P.Sinha as Lieutenant Governor of Bihar (First Indian)

    Lord Reading (1921-26)

    1. Chauri-Chaura incident ( 5th Feb 1922)

    2. Formation of Swaraj party by C.R.Das Motilal Nehru in Dec 1922

    3. Foundation of Rastriya Swayam Sevak Sangh (RSS) by K.B.Hedgewar (1925)

    4. Repeal of Rowlatt Act

    5. Holding of simultaneous examinations in India and England

    6. Beginning of Indianisation of officer’s cadre of the Indian Army.

    Lord Irwin (1926-31)

    1. Simon commission and its Boycott

    2. Harcourt Butler Indian States commission (1927)

    3. Nehru report and its rejection by Muslim League Hindu Mahasabha etc.

    4. Deepavali declaration

    5. Lahore session (1929)

    6. Poornaswaraj declaration

    7. Launching of Civil Disobedience Movement and Dandi march

    8. First Round Table Congress

    9. Gandi Irwin Pact

    Lord Willingdon (1931-36)

    1. Second and Third Round Table conferences

    2. Communal award (1932) by Ramsay Mac Donald

    3. Poona pact between Gandhi and Ambedkar(1932)

    4. Govt. of India Act 1935

    5. Foundation of Socialist Party by Acharya Narendra Dev and Jai Prakash Narayan (1934)

    Lord Linlithgow (1936-43)

    1. Formation of congress ministries

    2. Resignation of Subash Chandra Bose from the President ship of congress

    3. Formation of Forward Block

    4. August offer by Linlithgow and its rejection by congress

    5. Deliverance day by Muslim League (1939)

    6. Cripps Mission

    7. Quit India movement

    Lord Wavell (1943-47)

    1. C.R Formula by C.Rajagopalchari

    2. Wavell Plan and Simla Conference

    3. INA Trials

    4. Naval Mutiny (1946)

    5. Cabinet Mission ( Lawrence, Cripps and Alexander)

    6. Formation of Interim Government and Launching of Direct Action Day

    Lord Mountbatten (1947)

    1. Partition of India and Independence

    Above the list of British Viceroys in British India will be helpful for the aspirants of the competitive exams like UPSC/PCS/SSC/CDS etc.

    Modern History: A Complete Study Material

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK