List of Jain Tirthankaras

A Tirthankara is defined as a founder of a Tirtha. He achieves the enlightenment and helps others achieve the same. A Tirthankara is believed to achieve Moksha or liberation at the end of his life.
Apr 17, 2019 11:59 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
List of Jain Tirthankaras
List of Jain Tirthankaras

Jainism is an ancient Indian religion that teaches the spiritual purity and enlightenment through disciplined nonviolence to all living creatures. The aim of Jain life is to achieve liberation of the soul.

Who is a Tirthankara?

Tirthankara’s are the saviour and spiritual teacher of the Jain dharma. The term ‘Tirthankara’ signifies the founder of Tirth. According to Jain scripture, a tirthankara is a rare individual who has conquered the samsara, the cycle of death and rebirth, on their own, and made a path for others to follow.

They are also called Arihantas, Jinas, Kevalis, and Vitragi. Arihant means "destroyer of inner enemies," Jina means "victor of inner enemies," and vitragi means "one who does not have any more attachment or hatred towards anyone." This means that they are totally detached from worldly aspects. They have destroyed the four ghati karmas, namely Jnanavarniya Karma, Darshanavarniya Karma, Mohniya Karma, and Antaraya Karma.

Heterodox Schools of Indian Philosophy

Jains celebrate five major events in the life of a Tirthankara. They are called Kalyanak (auspicious events). They are:

1. Chyavana Kalyanak: This is the event when the Tirthankar's soul departs from its last life, and is conceived in the mother’s womb.

2. Janma Kalyanak: This is the event when the Tirthankar's soul is born.

3. Diksha Kalyanak: This is the event when the Tirthankar's soul gives up all his/her worldly possessions and becomes a monk/nun. (Digambar sect does not believe that women can become Tirthankar or be liberated.)

4. Kevaljnana Kalyanak: This is an event when Tirthankar’s soul destroys the four ghati karmas completely and attains the Kevaljnana (absolute knowledge). Celestial angels set Samavsaran for Tirthankars from where he/she delivers the first sermon. This is the most important event for the entire Jain order as the Tirthankar reinstates Jain Sangh and preaches the Jain path of purification and liberation.

5. Nirvana Kalyanak: This event is when a Tirthankar’s soul is liberated from this worldly physical existence forever and becomes a Siddha. On this day, the Tirthankar’s soul destroys the four Aghati karmas completely, and attains salvation, the state of eternal bliss.

Six Philosophical Systems or Shada Darsana of India

List of Jain Tirthankara

There are 24 Tirthankaras of Jainism. The first Tirthankara was Rishabhdev and the last one was Mahavira.

Name of Tirthankara


Place of Nirvan

1. Lord Rishabha



2. Ajitnath


Samet Sikhar

3. Sambhavanath


Samet Sikhar

4. Abhinandannath


Samet Sikhar

5. Sumatinath

Red Goose

Samet Sikhar

6. Padmaprabha


Samet Sikhar

7. Suparshvanath


Samet Sikhar

8. Chandraprabha


Samet Sikhar

9. Pushpadanta


Samet Sikhar

10. Sheetalnath


Samet Sikhar

11. Shreyansanath


Samet Sikhar

12. Vasupujya

Female buffalo


13. Vimalnath


Samet Sikhar

14. Anantnath


Samet Sikhar

15. Dharmanath


Samet Sikhar

16. Shantinath


Samet Sikhar

17. Kunthunath


Samet Sikhar

18. Aranath


Samet Sikhar

19. Mallinath


Samet Sikhar

20. Munisuvrata


Samet Sikhar

21. Nami Natha

Blue-Water Lily

Samet Sikhar

22. Neminatha


Mount Girnar

23. Parshva


Samet Sikhar

24. Mahavira


Pava Puri

According to the Jainism scriptures, the philosophy of Jainism was formalised by the last Tirthankaras, i.e. Vardhaman Mahavir. Later, the philosophy of Jainism was forwarded by their chief disciples known as ‘Ganadharas’. The role of Ganadharas and Aacharyas can be understood from the fact that Jain scriptures are all composed by the Ganadharas and Aacharyas and not by the Tirthankaras.

Jainism: Teaching of Mahavira | Spread of Jainism