1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK for Exams  |  

List of Members of ASEAN Organisation

May 18, 2018 18:01 IST
    ASEAN Members

    The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand. There are 10 permanent members of this association. The basic objective behind the establishment of this organisation is to promote economic co-operation in South-East Asia and ensure the economic stability in this region. Its headquarters is in Jakarta (Indonesia).

    India could not become the member of this association due to her geographical location. India is a part of South-Asia while the ASEAN is an organisation of South-East Asian Nations. On July 23, 1996; ASEAN gave advisory status to India.

    General Knoledge eBook

    In this article we are publishing the list of all the member countries of the ASEAN along with their capitals.

    List of ASEAN members is as follows;

    Country Name


    Joined ASEAN

     1. Brunei

    Bandar Seri Begawan

    7 January, 1984

     2. Cambodia

    Phnom Penh

    30 April,1999

     3. Indonesia


    8 August, 1967

     4. Laos


    23 July, 1997

     5. Malaysia

    Kuala Lumpur

    8 August, 1967

     6. Myanmar


    23 July, 1997

     7. Philippines


    8 August, 1967

     8. Singapore


    8 August, 1967

     9. Thailand


    8 August, 1967

     10. Vietnam


    28 July, 1995

    Some Interesting Facts about the ASEAN Nations are;

    1. Among the ASEAN nations; Singapore has the highest Per Capita Income (PPP-US$90724) as per the data released by the International Monetary Fund in April 2017.

    2. Indonesia is the most populous country in the ASEAN region by having 266,794,980 population. It is also the fourth highest populous country in the world.

    3. As per the data released by the International Monetary Fund, April-2017; Cambodia has lowest Per Capita GDP (PPP) in the ASEAN Nations i.e. US$ 4022.

    4. As per the data released by the International Monetary Fund, April-2017, Indonesia has the highest GDP (PPP) US$ 32,57,123.

    5. Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand are the founding members of the ASEAN. Rest of the five members join this organisation later on.

    6. Two-way trade between India and ASEAN moved up to $71.6 billion in 2016-17 from $65.1 billion in 2015-16.

    India has very good trade relations with ASEAN nations and the topic “ASEAN” itself covered in the syllabus of most of the exams held in India. So the aspirants need to give good attention to this topic.

    15 Most Important facts about IMF

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below