1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK for Exams

Timeline of Delhi Sultanate

04-APR-2017 11:36

    The establishment of Delhi Sultanate began with the invasion of Muhammad Ghori. He had brought a large number of slaves and appointment them as officers. When he died in AD 1206 resulted in a scramble for supremacy among his three generals- Qutub-ud-din Aibek (Commander of his army), Tajuddin Yalduz (ruled Karman and Sankuran between Afghanistan and Sind) and Nasiruddin Qubacha (held). Here, we are giving a timeline of Delhi Sultanate in chronological order and causes of decline of Delhi Sultanate.

    Timeline of Delhi Sultanate

    Ilbary Dynasty (AD 1206-1290)


    Name of Sultan

    Years of ruling

    Qutub-Ud-din Aibek

    AD 1206- 1210

    Shams-ud-din Iltutmish

    AD 1211-1230

    Razia Begum

    AD 1236- 1240

    Nasiruddin Mahmud

    AD 1246-1266

    Ghias-ud-din Balban

    AD 1266-1287


    AD 1287-1290


    Khilji Dynasty (AD 1290-1320)


    Name of Sultan

    Years of ruling

    Jalal-ud-din Khilji (

    AD 1290-96

    Alauddin Khilji


    Shiba-ud-din Omar

    AD 1316

    Mubarak khilji

    AD 1316-1320

    Tughlaq Dynasty (AD 1320-1412)


    Name of Sultan

    Years of ruling

    Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq

    AD 1320-1325

    Muhammad Bin Tughlaq

    AD 1325-51

    Firuz Shah Tughlaq


    Tughlaq Shah

    AD 1388-1398

    Abu Bakar

    During the next 14 years three sultans ascended the throne. Then followed Nasiruddin Mahmud the last sultan of this dynasty.

    Muhammad Shah

    Alauddin Sikander Shah

    Nasiruddin Mahmud

    Sayyid Tughlaq (AD 1414-1450)


    Name of Sultan

    Years of ruling

    Khizr Khan

    AD 1414-1421

    Mubarak Shah

    AD 1421-1434

    Muhammad Shah


    Alauddin Alam Shah

    AD 1445-1450

    Lodhi Dynasty (AD 1451- 1526)


    Name of Sultan

    Years of ruling

    Bahlol Lodhi

    AD 1451-1489

    Sikander Lodhi

    AD 1489- 1517

    Ibrahim Lodhi

    AD 1517-1526

    Reasons for the Success of Sultans of Delhi Sultanate

    1. Local kings lacked unity and organisation; divided by rivalries’

    2. There was no central government

    3. Kingdoms were small and scattered

    4. Turks were better organised and took advantage of the lack of mutual cooperation among the Rajputs.

    Causes of Decline of Delhi Sultanate

    1. The rulers of Delhi Sultanate came in power with the help of sword and army, so there was no definite law of succession.

    2. Military strength was the main factor in succession to the throne, which later gave birth to political instability.

    2. Nobles were very powerful and act as king makers who controlled the weak sultans.

    3. Iqtadari, Zamindari and Jagirdari system led to the disintegration of Delhi Sultanate.

    4. Invasion of Timurid Babar created havoc like situation and became main cause for the downfall of the Delhi Sultanate

    “History of Medieval India”: A Complete Study Material

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK