47th IFFI Concluded in Goa

Nov 29, 2016 14:15 IST

The 47th International Film Festival of India (IFFI), which was inaugurated by noted filmmaker Ramesh Sippy on 20 November 2016, came to a close on 28 November in Goa, India.

The inauguration of the event was also attended by the Union Minister of Information & Broadcasting – M Venkaiah Naidu and South Korea’s Ambassador to India- Hyun Cho. The focus country this time was the Republic of Korea.

The festival saw the screening of over 300 films from as many as 90 countries across the globe and saw participation from several young filmmakers. It also hosted a special screening of award-winning films from the first-ever BRICS film festival and a series of 20 award-winning short films based on the ‘Swachh Bharat' campaign theme.

While Poland’s official entry to the 89th Academy Awards, ‘Afterimage’ by Andrzej Wajda opened the festival, South Korea’s official entry ‘The Age of Shadows’ by Kim Jee-Woon brought the curtains down.

CA eBook

Key Highlights

• Legendary Korean filmmaker Im Kwon-Taek was honoured with ‘The Lifetime Achievement Award’. He has a lot of acclaimed pieces of work to his name including films like Chunhyang, Chihwaseon, and Mandala.
• Iranian drama film ‘Daughter’ directed by Reza Mirkarimi beat 21 others to claim the Golden Peacock award for ‘Best film’. Along with the trophy, the film also won a cash prize of Rs 40 lakh.
• The film’s male lead Farhad Aslani won the Silver Peacock for the best actor male.
• Best actor female award went to Elina Vaska for her role in Latvian film – Mellow Mud.
• Silver Peacock for best director went to Soner Caner and Baris Kaya, co-directors of Turkish film- Rauf. They also won a cash prize of Rs. 15 lakh.
• Lee Joon-ik, South Korean director of film – 'The Throne' won the special jury award. He was honoured with the Silver Peacock and a cash prize of Rs.15 lakh.
• The ICFT- Unesco Gandhi medal was given to the Turkish drama film- ‘Cold of Kalandar’- directed by Mustafa Kara. The film was chosen for such a prestigious award for its ethnic values and respect for the environment.
• ‘The Apology’ by Toronto-based Tiffany Hsiung received a special mention in the Gandhi Medal competition.
• The Centenary award for the ‘Best Debut Film of a Director’ went to Pepa San Martin for her Spanish film 'Rara' and the Centenary award for 'Indian Film Personality of the Year' went to actor and playback singer, S.P. Balasubrahmanyam.

Besides this, another main highlight of the festival was the premiere of ‘Bahubali: The Conclusion’ by national award winning director S S Rajamouli, who was also the chief guest of the closing ceremony.

Also present in the closing ceremony were other eminent personalities such as Minister of Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Rathore, Governor of Goa Mridula Sinha and Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes14 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK