1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

A.K. Mittal appointed as Chairman of Railway Board

Jan 2, 2015 09:09 IST

A.K. MittalA.K. Mittal was appointed as the Chairman of Railway Board on 31 December 2014. He succeeded Arunendra Kumar who superannuated from Railway Services on 31 December 2014.

At the time of this appointment, Mittal was Member Staff, Railway Board and ex-officio Secretary to the Government of India. He had also served as General Manager of South Western Railway-SWR (Headquarters Hubli) and was also looking after the additional charge of General Manager, South Central Railway- SCR (Headquarters Secunderabad).

Apart from this, other 11 appointments including eight General Managers were done. The eight general managers were appointed by Railways Minsiter Suresh Prabhu to head different zonal railways and departmental organizations. Some appointments in Railways include   
• Pradeep Kumar – succeeded Mittal and became new Member Staff. At the time of being appointed in as member staff, he was serving as a Genral Manager of the North Central Railway and was also holding additional charge of Northern Railway,
• Navin Tondon – appointed as the Member Electrical and at the time of appointment he was serving as a General Manager of South Eastern Central Railways
• V.K. Gupta, Member Engineering - given additional responsibility of Member Mechanical at the Board

Is this article important for exams ? Yes108 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Railway Board Chairman , RRB , A.K. Mittal , Railway Ministry

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK