Anurag Thakur unanimously elected BCCI president

Thakur, the second youngest BCCI president, is also a politician and is the BJP MP from Himachal Pradesh's Hamirpur district.

Created On: May 23, 2016 08:14 ISTModified On: May 23, 2016 14:07 IST

Anurag-Thakur Anurag Thakur was on 22 May 2016 unanimously elected as 34th BCCI President at the board’s special general meeting (SGM) in Mumbai. He will serve as President until September 2017.

Thakur, who is a BJP MP in Lok Sabha from Himachal Pradesh's Hamirpur district, is the second youngest BCCI chief. Fatehsinghrao Gaekwad in 1963 became the youngest BCCI President at the age of 33.

Thakur succeeds Shashank Manohar who stepped down from the position to take up the ICC chief's job. Manohar was elected the ICC's first independent chairman on 12 May 2016.

Before being appointed as President, Thakur resigned as BCCI Secretary. Thakur, 41, will also represent the BCCI on the ICC executive board and the Asian Cricket Council.

Anurag Singh Thakur

• He is the son of Prem Kumar Dhumal, the former Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

• He has been a member of 14th, 15th and 16th Lok Sabha.

• He was elected as the Honorary Secretary of the BCCI in January 2015.

• He played one match in first-class cricket representing Himachal Pradesh and leading the team as captain in a match against Jammu and Kashmir in the 2000/2001 season.

Apart from this, after taking the office of President, Thankur named Ajay Shirke as his successor as secretary. Shrike will represent the BCCI at the chief executives committee meetings of the ICC.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

1 + 8 =