Bill Murray wins Mark Twain Prize for American Humour

Oct 25, 2016 13:32 IST

Comedian Bill Murray on 23 October 2016 was honoured with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humour. He was presented with the award at the ceremony organised at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall in Washington DC.

Murray was awarded the 19th Mark Twain Prize for making an impact on U.S. society similar to Mark Twain's.

CA eBook

About Bill Murray

Bill Murray is an American actor, comedian and writer.

He first gained recognition on Saturday Night Live, a role which earned him his first Emmy Award.

He is known for his roles in Meatballs, Caddyshack, Stripes, Ghostbusters, Ghostbusters II, Groundhog Day among others.

In 2003, he earned a Golden Globe and a BAFTA Award for Best Actor for his role in Lost in Translation.

He won his won his second Primetime Emmy Award in 2014 for Olive Kitteridge.

About Mark Twain Prize for American Humour

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humour is an American award for humour awarded by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

It is being awarded annually since 1998.

It is named after the 19th century novelist, essayist and humorist Mark Twain.

It is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to American humour.

The prize is presented and show is taped in the Kennedy Center Concert Hall in Washington DC.

Recipients of the Twain Prize receive a copy of an 1884 bronze portrait bust of Mark Twain sculpted by Karl Gerhardt.

In 2015, the honour was presented to Eddie Murphy.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK