Congress emerged as the Single Largest Party in Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2012

India Current Affairs 2012. The Congress party emerged as the single largest party in Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2012

Mar 9, 2012 17:41 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The Congress party emerged as the single largest party in Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2012. The party, which finished 32 in a 70-member house would require the support of 4 more candidates to form the government. Result of elections held at 70 assembly seats of state came on 6 March 2012.

The incumbent BJP gave a tough match to the Congress which was expecting to storm the state riding on the anti-incumbency wave. The BJP which bagged 31 seats finished second in the poll. With just one seat less than the Congress, the BJP can also claim to form the government. In a major setback to the BJP, its Chief Ministererial candidate BC Khandoori lost election to Congress’ Surendra Singh Negi.

At a time when none of the major party has received the clear majority, the importance of BSP, which managed to win 3 seats, and 4 independent candidates have grown significantly in the process of forming a government. In order to form the government both the parties Congress and BJP would require the support of either the BSP or the four independent candidates.

The 2012 assembly election was third for the state, which was created by the Indian Government in 2000 by bifurcating Uttar Pradesh. In the past two assembly elections the mandate swung between Congress and BJP. While the Congress claimed victory in 2002, BJP emerged victorious in 2007 election.

Below is the tabular presentation of the result of Uttarakhand Assembly Elections 2012:

  Total Seats:70

 Party Seats in 2012
Seats in 2007
 Change Vote % in 2012
Congress  32  21  +11  33.8
BJP  31
 34    -3  33.1
BSP   3
Others   4    7    -3  20.9

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए