ICC Champions Trophy 2017: BCCI announces 15-member India squad

May 8, 2017 15:50 IST

2017 ICC champion trophy Indian SquadThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 8 May 2017 announced the 15 man Indian squad which will take part in International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy which is scheduled to be held in June 2017 in England.

This announcement came after BCCI cleared the Indian team’s participation in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in its Special General Meeting.

The Indian squad of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 includes
• Virat Kohli (Captain)
• Shikhar Dhawan
• Rohit Sharma
• Ajinkya Rahane
• Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk)
• Yuvraj Singh
• Kedar Jadhav
• Hardik Pandya
• R Ashwin
• Ravindra Jadeja
• Mohammad Shami
• Umesh Yadav
• Bhuvneshwar Kumar
• Jasprit Bumrah
• Manish Pandey

The only surprise inclusion in the squad is that of Manish Pandey.

Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh were three senior Indian players who failed to find place in the squad despite a good show in the ongoing season of Indian Premier League (IPL).

CA eBook

Indian team led by Virat Kohli is scheduled to open its ICC Champions Trophy campaign on 4 June 2017 at Edgbaston against Pakistan, followed by matches with Sri Lanka on 8 June and South Africa on 11 June at Kennington Oval.

Four years ago in 2013, Indian team led by MS Dhoni lifted the ICC Champions Trophy by beating England.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes4 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK