Jayasurya recalled as Sri Lanka's cricket chief selector

Apr 28, 2016 16:16 IST

Sanath_JayasuriyaSri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on 27 April 2016 announced appointment of Sanath Jayasuriya as chief selector of the Sri Lankan Cricket team.

Jayasuriya is back as the chief selector for the team, after a year when he stepped down from the role. Earlier, he served as the chief selector from January 2013 to March 2015.

Jayasuriya-led committee will succeed the Aravinda de Silva led committee.

The new four member selection panel will take office on 1 May 2016 and will serve for two years and will comprise of former wicketkeeper-batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, former fast bowler Eric Upashantha and former off spinner Ranjith Madurasinghe.

During Jayasuriya’s previous tenure, Sri Lanka won a World T20 and a Test series in England, both in 2014, before exiting the 2015 World Cup in the quarter-finals.

It was Jayasuriya's committee that formalised Angelo Mathews' ascension to the Test and ODI captaincy. However, the period was also beset by public disagreements between Jayasuriya and senior players, who have now retired.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes6 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK