1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Kodela Siva Prasada Rao elected as the first Assembly speaker of AP after bifurcation

Jun 21, 2014 14:18 IST

Kodela Siva Prasada Rao on 20 June 2014 was elected as the first Assembly speaker of Andhra Pradesh after bifurcation.
Kodela of Telugu Desam Party was the only person to be nominated for the Speaker of Assembly. He is a Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Sattenapalli constituency.

The role and function of Speaker of the state Assembly is similar to that of Lok Sabha Speaker.

Article 178 of the Constitution of India   provides for Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

About Kodela Siva Prasada Rao
• Rao served in the cabinets of NT Rama Rao and N Chandrababu Naidu regimes.
• He was the Home Minister in 1987 when the sensational abduction of seven IAS officers by naxalites took place.
• He also held the portfolios of Health, Major Irrigation, Panchayat Raj, Rural Development and Civil Supplies.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes63 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK