1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Lok Sabha Speaker formed Parliament security panel

Aug 8, 2014 15:15 IST

Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan on 7 August 2014 appointed a committee under the chairmanship of former home secretary RK Singh to review Parliament security. The committee will comprise of other two members and they are former Rajasthan DGP Harish Chandra Meena and former Mumbai Police Commissioner Satyapal Singh.

All these three members of the committee are BJP members in Lok Sabha at present. It has been asked to submit its report within a month after making a comprehensive review of the existing security set-up and suggest measures to further strengthen it. The Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari didn’t object on the formation of the committee that comprises only Lok Sabha members.

Previous committee on security in Parliament complex
Earlier a committee on security in Parliament complex was formed in the previous Lok Sabha following the pepper spray attack inside the Lok Sabhathat sparked massive outrage. This committee was headed by the Deputy Speaker Karia Munda. This committee was tasked to examine security-related matters and also included ways of prevention of bringing in dangerous and life-threatening materials into the chamber of the House by the Members of Parliament too.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes45 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK