1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Manipur Governor Vinod Kumar Duggal resigned

Aug 29, 2014 11:27 IST

Vinod Kumar DuggalVinod Kumar Duggal resigned as Manipur Governor on 28 August 2014. He was appointed as governor of Manipur by President Pranab Mukherjee on 23 December 2013.

Thus, Vinod Kumar Duggal became the ninth governor to resign since the NDA Government came to power in May 2014. Eight other governors -- M.K. Narayanan (West Bengal), Ashwani Kumar (Nagaland), B.L. Joshi (UP), B.V. Wanchoo (Goa) Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh), Sheila Dikshit (Kerala), V Purushothaman (Mizoram), K. Sankaranarayanan (Maharashtra) had resigned before.

Vinod Kumar Duggal
• Vinod Kumar Duggal is a 1968 batch IAS officer.
• He served as a  Home Secretary from 2005-2007.
• In 2009, he was appointed as a member-secretary of the Srikrishna committee on Telangana.
• He is also a member of the Justice Punchhi Commission on Centre-State relations
• Along with the responsibility to serve as Governor of Manipur, he was given additional responsibility as Governor of Mizoram as the governor Kamla Beniwal was sacked on 8 August 2014.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes36 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Vinod Kumar Duggal , Manipur Governor , ninth governor to resign

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK