Manoj Kumar to be conferred Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2015

Mar 4, 2016 18:30 IST

Veteran Film Actor and Director Manoj Kumar will be conferred the 47th Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2015.

A five member jury consisted of Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle, Salim Khan, Nitin Mukesh and Anup Jalota unanimously recommended Kumar for the prestigious Award.

Manoj Kumar is remembered for his films Hariyali Aur Raasta, Woh Kaun Thi, Himalaya Ki God Mein, Do Badan, Upkaar, Patthar Ke Sanam, Neel Kamal, Purab Aur Paschim, Roti Kapda Aur Makaan, and Kranti. He is known for acting in and directing films with patriotic themes.

He is a recipient of National Film Award for the film Upkaar. In 1992, he was honoured with the third highest civilian award Padma Shri by the Government of India.

About the Award

The award is given by the Government of India for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema. The Award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of 10 lakhs rupees and a shawl.

The 46th Dadasaheb Phalke Award was awarded to the veteran actor Shashi Kapoor for the year 2014.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App 

Is this article important for exams ? Yes20 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Dadasaheb Phalke Award , Manoj Kumar , Shashi Kapoor , Indian Cinema

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK