1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Michael Levitt, Martin Karplus and Arieh Warshel Won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013

Oct 9, 2013 17:05 IST

Michael Levitt, a British and US citizen of Stanford University, US-Austrian Martin Karplus of Strasbourg University and US-Israeli Arieh Warshel of the University of Southern California share The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 on 9 October 2013.

While announcing their names Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences told that the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry 2013 have made it possible to map the mysterious ways of chemistry by using computers.

Martin Karplu
Why they awarded Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013?

• They were awarded Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013 for the development of multi scale models for complex chemical systems.
• The trio devised computer simulations to understand chemical processes.
• Their research laid the foundations for new kinds of pharmaceuticals.
• Their research contributed to exploring multiple options in cyber space.

About the Nobel Prize

• Alfred Nobel signed On 27 November 1895 his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace.
• In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden's central bank) established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.
•The Nobel Prizes are annual international awards bestowed by Scandinavian committees in recognition of cultural and scientific advances.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes119 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK