1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Prabhu Nath Dwivedi named as the winner of the Sahitya Akademi Award 2014 for Sanskrit

Jan 15, 2015 09:39 IST

Eminent Sanskrit scholar Prabhu Nath Dwivedi was on 14 January 2015 named as the winner of the Sahitya Akademi Award 2014 for Sanskrit language.

He was awarded for his work Kanakalochanaha, a collection of 16 short-stories based on various social issues. His name was selected by a three-member jury of the Sahitya Akademi.

The award will be presented to him in March 2015 during the Festival of Letters that will be organised by the Sahitya Akademi in New Delhi.

In December 2014, Sahitya Akademi announced names of 22 poets and authors that will be honoured with prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award 2014.

But it had not announced the winners of Sahitya Akademi Award 2014 for Manipuri and Sanskrit language.

About Sahitya Akademi Award
Sahitya Akademi Award is conferred every year on writers who have shown outstanding works in one of the twenty-four major Indian languages.

These twenty-four major Indian languages are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Rajasthan, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

The award prize consists of engraved copper plaque, a shawl and a cheque of 1 Lakh rupees.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes24 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK