1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

President of India appointed Judges in the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir

Mar 12, 2013 09:57 IST

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee on 11 March 2013 appointed Ali Mohd. Magrey and Dhiraj Singh Thakur as the Judges of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court. The appointment of judges’ by the President took place in confirmation to the powers conferred in Article 95 of the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir.

Exercising the powers provided under sub-section (1) of section 100-A of the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir the President also appointed Rabstan, Bansi Lal Bhat and Janak Raj Kotwal as the Additional Judges of the Jammu and Kashmir High Court, in their order of seniority. All these additional judges will serve the Court for a period of two years and from the day when they will assume the charge of their respective offices.

Article 370 of Constitution of India grants temporary provisions with respect to the State of Jammu and Kashmir.

(1) Notwithstanding anything in this Constitution,

(a) the provisions of article 238 shall not apply in relation to the State of Jammu and Kashmir;

(b) the power of Parliament to make laws for the said State shall be limited

Is this article important for exams ? Yes15 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK