Rest of India defeated Mumbai to lift Irani Cup Cricket Title

Mar 11, 2016 08:08 IST

Rest of India on 10 March 2016 won the Irani Cup Cricket title. In the match played in Mumbai, Rest of India defeated 41-time Ranji Champions Mumbai by four wickets.

Rest of India overhauled the victory target of 480 by making 482 for 6 on the fifth and final day in Mumbai.

Rest of India’s chase was also the best-ever run-chase in the Irani history. It bettered Rest’s 424, chasing 421 set by Delhi at the Ferozshah Kotla in 1982-83.

• Man-of-the-match - Karun Nair

• The final scores: Mumbai-603 and 182; Rest of India - 306 and 482 for 6

About Irani Cup

The Irani Cup (earlier called Irani Trophy) tournament was conceived during the 1959-60 season to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy championship.

It was named after the late ZR Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970. The fixture is always played between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes7 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Rest of India , Irani Cup , Ranji Champions Mumbai , Cricket

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK