Sitharaman sets up Task Force on Artificial Intelligence for Economic Transformation

The Task Force on Artificial Intelligence has been asked to submit concrete and implementable recommendations for government, industry and research institutions.

Aug 28, 2017 09:50 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The Union Government on 25 August 2017 constituted a task force on Artificial Intelligence (AI) for the country's Economic Transformation. The 18-member panel, headed by Dr V. Kamakoti of IIT Madras, will comprise of experts, academics, researchers and industry leaders.

The panel has been asked to explore the possibilities to leverage Artificial Intelligence for development across various fields. The task force will submit concrete and implementable recommendations for government, industry and research institutions.

CA eBook

Members of the task force will are

1. Dr. V. Kamakoti, IIT Madras, Chairperson

2. Anuj Kapuria, High Tech RoboticSystemz Ltd., Member

3. Dr. Anurag Agarwal, Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology, CSIR, Member

4. Ashwini Asokan, Mad Street Den, Chennai, Member

5. Dr. Ashish Dutta, IIT Kanpur, Member

6. Dr. Shantanu Chaudhary, IIT Delhi, Department of Electrical Engineering, Member

7. G. Madhusudan, IIT Madras, Member

8. G. H. Rao, HCL Technology, Member

9. G. V. N. Apparao, Ex-Chief Technology Officer (CTO), Cognizant, Member

10. Komal Sharma Talwar, Founder, XLPAT, Member

11. Kunal Nandwani, Founder & CEO, uTrade Solutions, Member

12. Gautam Shroff, Vice President & Chief Scientist, TCS Innovation Labs, Tata Consultancy Services, Gurgaon, Member

13. K. Nagaraj Naidu, Joint Secretary (ITPO), Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Member

14. Ajay Kumar, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Electronics & IT, Member

15. Amandeep Gill, Ambassador/PR to CD, Geneva, Member

16. Dr. Aloke Mukherjee, DRDO, Member

17. Vijay Kumar Sankarapu, Founder & CEO,, Member

18. Ravinder, Joint Secretary, DIPP, Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Convenor

In addition to regular members, official participation from the following organizations shall also be requested:

1. NITI Aayog

2. Department of Science & Technology

3. Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology



Commerce and Industry Minister Nirmala Sitharaman who constituted the task force on Artificial Intelligence said that with rapid development in the fields of information technology and hardware, the world is about to witness a fourth industrial revolution.

She said driven by the power of big data, high computing capacity, artificial intelligence and analytics, Industry 4.0 aims to digitise the manufacturing sector.

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए