Stanislas Wawrinka won Men's single title of French Open

This was second grand slam title for Wawrinka after Australian Open 2014.

Created On: Jun 8, 2015 09:00 IST

Stanislas Wawrinka of Switzerland on 7 June 2015 won his first French Open title of Tennis. In the final clash played at Roland Garros in Paris, Wawrinka defeated Novak Djokovic of Serbia 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4.

The victory makes him only the second Swiss to win at Roland Garros after Roger Federer, the man he beat in the quarter-finals. This was second grand slam title for Wawrinka after Australian Open 2014. He also brought an end to Djokovic's 28-match winning streak.

Besides, Serena Williams of US on 6 June 2015 defeated Lucie Safarova of Czechoslovakia 6-3 6-7 (2) 6-2 to win the women's title of French Open. This was her third French Open title and 20th Grand Slam title.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

1 + 9 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all