Top 5 Current Affairs: 11 March 2019

Indian President Ram Nath Kovind has conferred the Padma Awards 2019, one of the highest civilian awards of India, to 112 awardees. This year, the President approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one duo case, in which the award is counted as one.

Created On: Mar 11, 2019 17:48 ISTModified On: Mar 11, 2019 17:51 IST
Top 5 Current Affairs: 11 March 2019

Padma Awards 2019 announced: President to confer awards to Gautam Gambhir, Prabhu Deva, Late Kader Khan among others

The President Ram Nath Kovind on March 11, 2019 conferred the Padma Awards 2019, one of the highest civilian awards of India, to 112 awardees.

This year, President Ram Nath Kovind approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one). The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards, of which, 21 of the awardees are women. The list includes 11 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 3 posthumous awardees and 1 transgender person.

President Ram Nath Kovind launches countrywide Pulse Polio Programme 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind on March 9, 2019 launched the Pulse Polio programme 2019 by administering polio drops to children less than five years old at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

The President administered the polio drops on the eve of the National Immunisation Day that is observed on 10 March every year. More than 17 crore children of less than five years across the country will be given polio drops as part of the Pulse Polio Programme 2019 to sustain polio eradication from the country.

Election Commission imposes model code of conduct with immediate effect

The Election Commission on March 10, 2019 imposed ‘model code of conduct’ in the entire nation with immediate effect for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, following its announcement of the complete election schedule.

The commission also announced that ‘voter-verifiable paper audit trail’ will be used in all polling stations this time. According to Article 324 of the Constitution, the Election Commission of India has the power to monitor the Centre, all the state governments, all the candidates and their respective political parties.

MP government increases reservation quota of OBCs to 27 per cent

The Madhya Pradesh government on March 9, 2019 issued an ordinance increasing reservation quota for the Other Backward Classes (OBC) to 27 per cent from the current 14 per cent. The announcement was made by the state’s Law and Legal Affairs Minister PC Sharma.

The ordinance was issued and notified after it received the assent from the state’s Governor Anandiben Patel on the same day. The move was made to ensure that the ordinance could be issued before the Election Commission’s model code of conduct for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls came into effect.

Mohammad Shtayyeh named as new Palestinian Prime Minister

Mohammad Shtayyeh was on March 10, 2019 named as the new Prime Minister of Palestine by the President of Palestinian Authority Mahmoud Abbas. Shtayyeh, a long time ally of the Abbas, is the member of the central committee of the President’s Fatah party.

Shtayyeh replaces Rami Hamdallah, who had been prime minister since 2014. The announcement comes six weeks after Hamdallah gave his resignation from the post and of his Unity government to President Mahmoud Abbas in January 2019, underscoring the failure of Hamas and Fatah to implement a power-sharing deal.

Since June 2007, there have been two competing governments in the Palestinian territories, one in the West Bank and the other in the Gaza Strip. Hamas has been the de facto government in the Gaza Strip since 2007, after defeating the Fatah party in parliamentary elections. It then pushed Fatah out of Gaza when the latter refused to recognise the result of the vote.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 5 =