TPP Nair, SP Misra, Romeo James recommended for 2015 Dhyan Chand Award

In 2014, the award was conferred on Gurmail Singh (Hockey), K.P.Thakkar (Swimming-Diving) and Zeeshan Ali (Tennis).

Aug 19, 2015 09:09 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

The selection committee headed by former Indian hockey captain Zafar Iqbal on 18 August 2015 recommended the names of TPP Nair, SP Misra and Romeo James for 2015 Dhyan Chand award. Their names were shortlisted from the names of 60 applicants.

TPP Nair, the former captain of the Indian volleyball team, led the Indian team which bagged a bronze medal in the 1958 Tokyo Asian Games and a silver medal in the 1962 Jakarta Asian Games.

SP Misra is the former captain of Davis Cup and at present is the chairman of the All India Tennis Association Selection Committee (AITASC).

Romeo James, the former goalkeeper of the Indian hockey team, represented the country in the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics where India finished fifth.

Dhyan Chand Award
Dhyan Chand award is India's highest award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, given by the Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The award is named after the legendary Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand. The award was initiated in 2002 and carries a cash prize of 5 lakh rupees, a plaque and a scroll of honour.

In 2014, the award was conferred on three individuals, namely Gurmail Singh (Hockey), KP Thakkar (Swimming-Diving) and Zeeshan Ali (Tennis).

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए