G-20 Summits: List of Summits and Members

List of G-20 Summits and Members: There are 20 members of the G-20 including India. The last annual meeting of the G20 was held in Japan's city Osaka in June 2019 and the next meeting will take place in Riyadh(Saudi Arabia) between 21–22 November 2020.
Created On: Mar 26, 2020 13:19 IST
Modified On: Mar 13, 2021 19:03 IST
File Photo: G-20 Summit
File Photo: G-20 Summit

The G-20 is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors. On the number of its members, its name is termed as the G-20 which known as the group of twenties.

G-20 was founded in 1999 with the aim to discuss policy pertaining to the promotion of international financial stability.

Group of 20 or (G-20) is the main forum for deciding the opinion on much international economic cooperation and some other critical issues like terrorism, human trafficking, global warming etc.

It is worth mentioning that G 20 members represent around 85% of global GDP, over 75% of global trade, and two-thirds of the world's population.

The name of the G-20 members are;


(2) Australia

(3) Brazil

(4) Canada

(5) China

(6) France

(7) Germany

(8) India

(9) Indonesia

(10) Italy


(12) Republic of Korea

(13) Mexico

(14) Russia

(15) Saudi Arabia

(16) South Africa

(17) Turkey

(18) The United Kingdom 

(19) The United States of America

(20) European Union

Why Indian Fugitive Offenders take Shelter in Britain?

Management of the G-20

The G 20 Presidency rotates annually according to a system that ensures a regional balance over time.

The G 20 does not have a permanent secretariat. Instead, the G 20 president is responsible for bringing the G20 agenda in consultation with other members. G20 is an informal political forum.

The very first of the G-20 summit was held in Washington, D.C. (United States) from 14–15 November 2008. The 14th G-20 summit was held in Osaka (Japan) on 28–29 June 2019. In this summit Indian delegation is headed by PM Narendra Modi.

It is the first time for Japan to take on the G 20 presidency headed by the Shinzō Abe.

List of G-20 Summits is as follows;

Host country

Host City


1. United States

Washington, D.C.

4–15 November 2008

2. United Kingdom


2 April 2009

3. United States


24–25 September 2009

4. Canada


26–27 June 2010

5. South Korea


11–12 November 2010

6. France


3–4 November 2011

7. Mexico

San José del Cabo, Los Cabos

18–19 June 2012

8. Russia

Saint Petersburg

5–6 September 2013

9. Australia


15–16 November 2014

10. Turkey

Serik, Antalya

15–16 November 2015

11. China


4–5 September 2016

12. Germany


7–8 July 2017

13. Argentina

Buenos Aires

30 Nov. – 1 Dec. 2018

14. Japan            


28–29 June 2019

15. Saudi Arabia


21–22 November 2020

16. Italy


30–31 October 2021

17. Indonesia

Labuan Bajo

TBD 2022

18. India


TBD 2023

19. Brazil


TBD 2024

So this was the important information about the G-20 and its summits held so far. The information given in this article is very important for various competitive exams so students need to remember it thoroughly.

International Monetary Fund (IMF): Objectives & Obligations

What is Lookout Notice and why is it issued?

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Comment (0)

Post Comment

3 + 7 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.