1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK for Exams


11-JUN-2014 17:59

    Jainism is an ancient religion from India that teaches that the way to liberation and bliss is to live a life of harmlessness and renunciation. The aim of Jain life is to achieve liberation of the soul.

    The royal patronage to Jainism was not as extensive as it was in the case of Buddhism. The monks however were active and orginised to spread Jainism inside the India. From Magadha the Jains moved westwards to Mathura and then to Ujjain and finally settled in Saurashtra on the western coast.

    A Jain is defined as a follower of Jina. Jina means victor or Conqueror.

    Jainism started centuries before Buddhism but later on was revived by Mahavira, the 24th Tirthankar of Jainism. According to Jain theology, Janism is one of the oldest religions which has neither beginning nor end.

    The religion suffered a split towards the end of the 1st century A.D. The orthodox Jains come to be known as the Digambaras (sky clad) and the liberal ones as Shvetambras (white clad). There is very little difference between the two sects.

    What is Kevalya Gyana?

    Kevalya Gyana is absolute knowledge, enlightenment and omniscience. A Kevalin is someone who has attained Kevala Gyana is called a Kevalin. For achieving the status of Jina, Kevalagyana is required first.

    Jain Cosmology

    The Jain cosmology stated that the world is made of six substances.

    1. Jiva: All living substances.
    2. Ajiva: Ajiva includes all Nonliving substances.
    3. Pudugala: This means matter
    4. Dharma-Tattava: This means principle of motion
    5. Adhamra Tattva: This means principle of Rest
    6. Akasa: This means space
    7. Kala: This means time


    There are five Mahavratas in Jainism are as following.

    1. Non-violence(Ahimsa)
    2. Truth( Satya)
    3. Non-stealing( Asteya)
    4. Chastity( Brahmacharya)
    5. Non-possession/Non attachment( Aparigraha)

    Tri Ratnas

    Triratnas associated with Jainism are as following.

    1. Samyak Gyan: It means right knowledge
    2. Samyak darshana: It means right view
    3. Samyak Acharana: It means right conduct

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK