Jagran Josh Logo

List of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award winners

07-NOV-2017 11:11

    Many players work hard to brighten the name of the country around the world. Therefore, Indian government also provides various benefits to the players with many prizes, reservation in jobs and awards etc. These awards and honour motivate the players to do well in the upcoming games like Olympic, World Championship and commonwealth games etc.
    Various awards given in the field of sports are: Arjuna Award, Eklavya Award, Major Dhyana Chand Award, Dronacharya Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. This article has given the names of the players who have received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.


           Player Name  



     1. Viswanathan Anand



     2. Geet Sethi  



     3. Homi de Motivala and PK Garg



     4. Karnam Malleswari



     5. Kunjurani Devi and Leander Paes

     Weightlifting, Lawn Tennis


     6. Sachin Tendulkar



     7. Jyotirmoyee Sikandar



     8. Dhanraj Pillai



     9. Pullela Gopichand



     10. Abhinav Bindra



     11. Anjali Bhagwat and K. M. Binamol

     Shooting, Athletics


     12. Anju Bobby George



     13. Rajya Vardhan ,Singh Rathore



     14. Pankaj Advani

     Billiards and Snooker


     15. Manavjit Singh Sandhu



     16. Mahendra Singh Dhoni



     17. M.C. Marikom, Vijender Singh, Sushil Kumar

     Boxing, Boxing, Wrestling


     18. Saina Nehwal



     19. Gagan Narang



     20. Vijay Kumar, Yogeshwar Dutt

     Shooting, Wrestling


     21. Ranjan Sodhi



     22. Sania Mirza

     Lawn Tennis


     23. P. V. Sindhu, Deepa Kamikar, Sakshi Bhai and Jitu Rai

     Badminton, Gymnastics, Wrestling, Shooting


     24. Devendra Jhajaria, Sardar Singh

     Javelin throw, Hockey


    Do you know the members of first Indian cricket team

    Some interesting facts about Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award are:

    1. It is the highest sporting honour of the Republic of India.

    2. It is awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

    3. This award was instituted in 1991-92.

    4. Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand was the first recipient of this award.

    5. From 1992 to 2017, 34 sportsmen got this award.

    6. It carries prize money of Rs.7.5 lac

    What is the Duckworth Lewis Method and how it is applied in cricket

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      Newsletter Signup
      Follow us on
      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK