21-APR-2014 18:14


    Mayawati is an Indian politician. She is the current president of BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party) and served the Uttar Pradesh for 4 terms as a Chief Minister. Mayawati was born on 15th January 1956. His father was Shri Prabhu Das and mother was Ram Rati.

    Family details

    Mayawati was born on 15th January 1956. His father was Shri Prabhu Das and mother was Ram Rati.


    In the year 1975, Mayawati completed her B.A. from Kalindi Womens College & Law Faculty, Delhi University. In the year 1976, she earned a B. Ed. degree from VMLG College, Ghaziabad. Subsequently she did her LL. B. from Delhi University in the year 1983. She desired to become an IAS officer at that point. She was elected for the 1st time as MP in the year 1989.


    1989: Bahujan Samaj Party was formed by Kanshi Ram and Mayawati was introduced as the member of party. Mayawati and the party contested in the ninth Lok Sabha Elections for the 1st time.

    1994: Mayawati became a member of the Rajya Sabha.

    1995: Mayawati created history by becoming the 1st ever Dalit Woman of India to serve as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

    1996 – 1998: Mayawati was elected as a legislator in State Assembly

    1997: Mayawati became the Chief Minister of UP for the 2nd time & retained the post till September 20, 1997

    1998: Mayawati was elected for the 2nd time as the member of twelfth Lok Sabha

    1999: Mayawati became the member of thirteenth Lok Sabha

    2001: Dalit leader Kanshi Ram proclaimed at a rally that Mayawati will be the sole heir of him and of the Bahujan Movement

    Feb 2002: Mayawati was re - elected in the assembly elections of UP

    Mar 2002: Mayawati resigned from Akbarpur Lok Sabha seat

    May 2002: Mayawati became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the 3rd time

    2003: Mayawati became the National President of BSP

    Apr - May 2004: She was re - elected as member of fourteenth Lok Sabha from Akbarpur, Uttar Pradesh

    July 2004: She resigned from Lok Sabha & became member of Rajya Sabha for the 2nd time

    2006: She was elected as the National President of party for the 2nd time

    May 2007: Mayawati became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the 4th time

    July 2007: Mayawati was elected as Member of Legislative Council of Uttar Pradesh

    Achivements and Awards

    She was given Paul Harris Fellow Award for her personal contribution to eradicate polio from the state in 2003 by Rotary International and Unicef in 2003. She is also credited with the upliftment of dalits in Uttar Pradesh.

    Books and Documentaries

    Iron Lady Kumari Mayawati  is the book written on Mayawati by Mohammad Jamil Akhter.

    source: &

    Ready to test your knowledge about Mayawati?

    Lal Krishna Advani

    Manmohan Singh

    Digvijay Singh

    Nitish Kumar

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK