Jagran Josh Logo
  1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK for Exams

The Western Ghats Mountain Range

24-NOV-2015 17:47

    The Western Ghat Mountain Range or Sahyadri Range is the India’s largest mountain range after the Himalayas which extend from the Tapi river valley to the Nilgiri. It is divided into two parts- the North Sahyadri and the south Sahyadri. This range is the home of many hill stations like Matheran,Lonavala-Khandala, Mahabaleshwar, Panchgani, Amboli Ghat, Kudremukh and Kodagu.

    The range is called Sahyadri in northern Maharashtra and Sahya Parvatam in Kerala. The Biligiri ranges southeast of Mysore in Karnataka, meet the Shevaroys (Servarayan range) and Tirumala range farther east, linking the Western Ghats to the Eastern Ghats. In the south the range is known as the Nilagiri malai in Tamil Nadu.

    The ‘Gersoppa’ or ‘Jog’ waterfall on Sharavati River is located in Western Ghats which is India’s highest waterfall. The famous hill station ‘Kodaikanal’ (Tamil Nadu) is on the Palni Hill whereas ‘Ooty’ (Udagamandalam or Ootacamund) is located on the Nilgiri in Tamil Nadu.

    Important Passes of Western Ghats

    • Thal Ghat: It links Nasik to Mumbai.

    • Bhor Ghat: It links Mumbai to Pune.

    • Pal Ghat: It connects Kerala to Tamil Nadu (link Kochi to Chennai).

    • Senkota pass: It is located between the Nagercoil and the Cardmom hills links Thiruvanathpuram and Madurai

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • By clicking on Submit button, you agree to our terms of use
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    Newsletter Signup
    Follow us on