About the Bachelor of Science Course of IISc

Click here to view Complete detail about the undergraduate course offered at Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru.

The Bachelor of Science – Research (BS) Programme is a four-year programme organized into eight semesters. The final two semesters are devoted exclusively to a research project.
Six major disciplines are offered: Biology, Chemistry, Earth & Environmental Science, Materials, Mathematics, and Physics.
For a well balanced and well rounded learning experience, each student is required to take a minimum number of courses in engineering and humanities.
The programme is designed to provide a deep interdisciplinary experience to the students.
Students who complete all requirements for the award of the Bachelor of Science (Research) degree have the option of getting a Master of Science degree by studying at the Institute for a fifth year. The Master of Science degree will be awarded in the six Major disciplines currently available in the Undergraduate Programme. Students opting for the Master of Science programme will get both Bachelor of Science (Research) and Master of Science degrees at the end of the fifth year if they complete all requirements for the award of the Master of Science degree.

Semesters 1, 2, 3:
Systematic exposure to the pillars of scientific, mathematical and engineering principles takes place during the first three semesters. In each of these semesters, the students will take one course each in physics, chemistry, mathematics, biology, engineering and humanities. Teaching of the compulsory core courses in science and engineering will include substantial components of laboratory demonstrations and hands-on experiments.
The students will also be exposed to courses in humanities that will help them appreciate science and its societal implications and also sharpen their skills in communicating science to both experts and to society at large.

Semesters 4, 5, 6:
At the beginning of the fourth semester, each student will choose a discipline for specialization ("Major") according to his/her academic interest. The following specializations are available: (1) Biology (2) Chemistry (3) Earth & Environmental Science (4) Materials (5) Mathematics (6) Physics. All these specializations are interdisciplinary in nature in that there will be adequate exposure to other disciplines. The number of students in each discipline will be approximately the same.
Both the academic interest of the student and his/her performance in the first three semesters will be considered for allocating the Major disciplines. In addition to a Major discipline, a student may also choose a discipline as a "Minor" discipline. In each of these semesters, the students will take four courses in the chosen Major and Minor disciplines. They will also take one elective course in engineering and one seminar course in humanities.

Semesters 7, 8:
A research project will be started in the seventh semester along with advanced elective courses. The final semester will be devoted exclusively to the project.
The project should be in the chosen Major discipline or an interdisciplinary topic that has a substantial overlap with the major discipline.

Semesters 9, 10 (optional):
Students who opt for the Master of Science programme will take advanced courses and carry out a research project in the fifth year. The break-up of credits into courses and project may vary between disciplines.
The advanced courses will be selected from existing courses available in Masters and PhD programmes of the Institute. Some of these courses may be designated as compulsory in certain disciplines, depending on programme requirements.

Related Categories

Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Stories