1. Home
  2. |  
  3. CBSE Board |  

CBSE Class 10 Board Exams will be Mandatory from 2017-18, Major Changes in Assessment Structure

Feb 2, 2017 15:00 IST

    CBSE Class 10 Compulsory Board Exams from 2017 - 2018

    CBSE Class 10th board exams will be mandatory from the academic year 2017 - 18. The board has also remodelled the complete assessment structure of Class 10th which will be effective from next academic session. The board has released a circular on its official site cbse.nic.in, regarding these decisions.

    Earlier, Union HRD minister Prakash Javadekar announced that Class 10th board examination for CBSE schools will become mandatory from the academic year 2017 - 18 and this circular is an official confirmation.

    CBSE Class 10th Old Assessment Structure

    Till now, there were 4 formative and 2 summative assessment tests across the year in CBSE class 10. The complete syllabus of CBSE class 10th was divided into two parts.
    The first half of the syllabus was assessed with the help 2 formative and 1 summative assessment conducted between April to September and rest half of the syllabus was assessed with other 2 formative and 1 summative assessment. For last summative assessment students of CBSE Class 10 had the choice of either giving the board exam conducted by CBSE or exam conducted by the school.

    PM Modi’s Mann Ki Baat: Top Excerpt from his Speech to Students Preparing for CBSE Board Exams 2017

    New Assessment Structure of CBSE Class 10 Effective from 2017 - 18

    From next academic session (i.e., 2017 – 18), class 10 students will have to appear for exams conducted by CBSE and based on the complete syllabus of class 10.
    As per the new assessment pattern of CBSE, the mandatory board exams will be conducted for 80 marks per subject with an internal assessment total of of 20 marks in total.

    CBSE Circular for Class 10 Board Exams

    Internal Assessment (20 Marks) comprises of Periodic Test (10 Marks), Notebook Submission (5 Marks), and Subject Enrichment Activity (5 Marks).

    Latest Study Material for CBSE Class 10th Board Exams 2017

    For the purpose of uniformity, CBSE has advised the schools to follow the similar pattern from class 6 to class 9.

    To know more about, CBSE’s New Assessment Structure, get the circular issued by Central Board of Secondary Education.

    Latest CBSE News and Alerts

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below


    Register to view Complete PDF