CBSE Class 10 Exam Pattern

CBSE Class 10 Examination forms a sound basis for future Classes. Find here the Pattern of Examination followed in CBSE Class 10.

Updated: Apr 14, 2015 16:28 IST

Class 10 Exam Pattern

Class 10 Examination is held in two modes:

  1. Summative Assessment I: It includes Formative Assessment I and II, and its period lies between the months of April and September.
  2. Summative Assessment II: It includes Formative Assessment III and IV, and its period lies between the months of October and March.

All the Questions Papers framed in both the modes are as per the Blueprint issued by CBSE.

Compulsory Subjects Covered:

  • Science
  • Mathematics
  • Social Science
  • Hindi
  • English

Question Paper Details:


Time Allotted for Examination

Total no. of Questions

Maximum Marks

Individual Sections with Markings


3 hours



Section A: 65 Marks

  • 3 questions of 1 mark each
  • 4 questions of 2 marks each
  • 12 questions of 3 marks each
  • 5 questions of 5 marks each

Section B: 15 Marks


3 hours



Section A: 10 Marks

Section B: 16 Marks

Section C: 30 Marks

Section D: 24 Marks

Social Science

3 hours



Section A: 9 Marks (MCQ)

Section B: 36 Marks

Section C: 40 Marks

Section D: 5 Marks (Map)


3 hours



Section A: 20 Marks

Section B: 20 Marks

Section C: 40 Marks

Section D: 10 Marks


3 hours



Section A: 15 Marks

Section B: 20 Marks

Section C: 15 Marks

Section D: 30 Marks

Apart from the compulsory subjects, the students could also opt for the optional subjects according to their area of interest.

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
Comment (0)

Post Comment

6 + 3 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.