CTET February 2016 Social Studies notes 2

We are providing you the notes on the Social Studies for the CTET February 2016, which will help you to prepare for the Exam.

Created On: Feb 15, 2016 12:17 IST

Important points on Modern History of India (for social studies/social science CTET-  2016)

It is less than fifteen days to go, so, it is the time for final preparations now, as Central board of secondary Education (CBSE) has already notified the date of examination of Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) to be held in February 2016. Successful Candidates will be eligible for being teachers (class I to class VIII) in government schools (state governments conduct their own TET exam).
Social studies/Social science is one of the elective subjects in paper II of CTET. History is a major part of the syllabus of social studies/social science in CTET exams. So, one has to focus on the history of India. Indian History is a topic of interest to many because of the cultures and civilizations existed in this sub-continent. History of India can be studied under political, cultural, religious or economic heads. Chronologically, Indian History can be classified into three periods – Ancient India, Medieval India and Modern India. By the time now, you must have followed NCERT books for detailed study and preparations of history. In our previous articles, we briefly discussed the ancient and medieval history of India.  The current article introduces few important points on modern history (1957 - onwards) of India followed by some sample questions on the same.

Modern History of India (AD 1857 +)

1857    First War of Indian Independence (Sepoy Mutiny also known as Sepoy Rebellion is considered as India's first war of Independence.  On 10th May 1857 AD, this famous rebellion of Indian history was started by Indian local soldiers (Sepoy) of British East India Company against the British Empire. Although the movement was unsuccessful and ended in 1858 AD, it was the foundation stone of the independence movement of India)
1869    Birth of Mahatma Gandhi on Oct. 2.
1885    This year is the foundation year of Indian National Congress
1904    Tibet Expedition
1905    First Battle of Bengal under Lord Curzon
1906    Foundation of Muslim League
1914    Beginning of World War I (1914) which was ended on 1918
1916    Muslim League and Congress signed Lucknow Pact
1919    Montague- Chelmsford Reforms introduced
    Jallianwala Bagh Massacre at Amritsar
1920    Non Co-operation Movement
1927    Boycott of Simon Commission; broadcasting started in India
1928    Death of Lala Lajpat Rai
1929    Lord Irwain's Pact;
resolution of complete independence passed at Lahore Congress
1930    Civil disobedience movement launched;
Dandi March by Mahatma Gandhi (April 6, 1930)
1931    Gandhi Irwin Pact
1935    Government of India Act enacted
1937    Provincial Autonomy; Congress forms ministries
1939    Word War II begins (September 1, 1939) and ended on 1945
1941    Escape of Subhash Chandra Bose from India and death of Rabindranath Tagore
1942    Arrival of Cripps Mission in India;
Quit India Movement launched (August 8)
1945    Shimla Conference
1946    British Cabinet Mission visits India; Interim government formed at centre
1947    Partition of India
1948    Mahatma Gandhi assassinated (January 30);
 integration of princely states
After independence:
•Constitutional Development of India (1946 – 1950)
•Economic Development of India
•Wars – India-Pak – Formation of Bangladesh; India- China
•New Economic Policy of 1991
•Other Developments

CTET February 2016: Quiz Set -2

Sample questions on modern history:

Q1: The resolution to begin  non-cooperation movement was passed by congress in its session at
(a) Nagpur
(b) Delhi
(c) Lahore
(d) Calcutta
Answer: (a) Nagpur

Q2: The author of the book 'Anandmath' was:
(a) Rabindra Nath Tagore
(b) Bankim C. Chattopadhyay
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) Abandranath Tagore
Answer: (b) Bankim C. Chattopadhyay
Q3: In which Congress session, the resolution on 'Poorna Swaraj' was passed? Who did chair this session?
(a) Calcutta, Gandhiji
(b) Karachi, Maulana Azad
(c) Lahore, Jawahar Lal Nehru
(d) Tripura, Subhas Chandra Bose
Answer: (c) Lahore, Jawahar Lal Nehru
Q4: Rowlatt Act was passed in:
(a) 1919
(b) 1917
(c) 1930
(d) 1929
Answer: (a) 1919
Q5: Mahatma Gandhi started Satyagraha in 1919 to protest against the–
(a) Salt Law
(b) Rowlatt Act
(c) Act of 1909
(d) Jallianwala Bagh Massacre
Answer: (b) Rowlett Act
Q6: Who among the following British Generals was connected with the Jallianwala bagh tragedy?
(a) Major Sleeman
(b) General Dyer
(c) Sir Arthur Wellesley
(d) Col. Manson
Answer: (b) General Dyer
Q7: In which of the following durations dis the First World war take place?
(a) 1914 – 1916
(b) 1912 - 1915
(c) 1914 - 1918
(d) 1942 – 1945
Answer: (c) 1914 - 1918
Q8: The Draft of Constitution of India was framed under the chairmanship of:
(a) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(b) Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar
(c) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(d) Ballabh Bhai Patel
Answer: (b) Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar
Q9: The objective of the Simon Commission was
(a) To discuss  Swaraj
(b) To investigate Jallianwala massacre
(c) To suggest changes in constitutional system in India
(d) To set objectives for 2nd Round Table Conference
Answer: (c) To suggest changes in constitutional system in India
Q10: The first President of the All India Muslim League was–
(a) Nawab Mohsin- ul- Mulk
(b) Nawab Viqar- ul- Mulk
(c) Hakim Ajmal Khan
(d) Aga Khan
Answer: (b) Nawab Viqar- ul- Mulk

I hope, above points on the modern history of India (from 1857 – independence) will be helpful for last minute revisions (for details of Modern history, students must have referred NCERT books). Above objective type questions will also help the students to have a feel of pattern and level of questions under this section.

CTET 2016: Child development & Pedagogy notes

CTET 2016: Environmental Studies notes

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
ludo_expresssnakes_ladderLudo miniCricket smash
Comment (0)

Post Comment

9 + 7 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.